San Francisco Weed Laws: Everything You Need To Know
California legalized cannabis on January 1st, 2018. This day marked the beginning of a new era for the United States; pot is now accessible to the majority of Americans. There are retail marijuana stores in major cities like Los Angeles and San Francisco. Any adult over the age of 21 can buy cannabis products from state-approved dispensaries. Once you have your cannabis products, what exactly are the rules when it comes to San Francisco weed laws? Can you smoke in public or share your pot with your friends? Are you allowed to grow your own weed?
New to CANEX? Get $20 off your first order with the code CANEXREAD18
San Francisco Weed Laws: Everything You Need To Know
San Francisco has been a marijuana hub for decades but how have new laws affected the culture of cannabis consumption? Over time, the federal government has loosened its tight grip on the cannabis industry but has yet to officially legalize marijuana on a federal level. Knowing the law could save you from dealing with the authorities. You may still be confused on how the new laws could affect you. Here is a comprehensive guide to current San Francisco weed laws.
California law allows each person over 21 years old, to possess up to an ounce of flower or up to 8 grams of cannabis concentrate. San Francisco weed laws allow adults to purchase up to 2800 mg of THC edibles. A dispensary would have to deny service to anyone trying to purchase over 28 grams of cannabis in one day. If you are caught over the limit, you may be subject to a $100 fine. Keep your stash at home and only carry small amounts on you when traveling through California.
Sharing is Caring, Selling is Not
It is illegal to share your cannabis products with anyone under 21. It is okay to share your bud with your friends who are legal adults. You can’t sell your peeps any weed, the government wants to make their cut too! It is illegal to start a business without paying taxes to the local and federal government. Enjoy your personal stash and keep supporting local SF dispensaries!
Growing Your Own
Every adult is also permitted to grow up to 6 cannabis plants for personal use. Official California law explains that “the living plants and any marijuana produced by the plants in excess of 28.5 grams are kept within the person's private residence, or upon the grounds of that private residence, are in a locked space, and are not visible by normal unaided vision from a public place.”
California legislature states that “no more than six living plants may be planted, cultivated, harvested, dried, or processed within a single private residence, or upon the grounds of that private residence, at one time.” This means that you probably can’t start a pot farm with your buddies just yet! If you want to start growing your own stash, make sure the plants can’t be seen from a public place.
The law is pretty clear when it comes to the consumption of cannabis in public spaces. California law prohibits smoking weed in public areas. The law explains that “smoke means to inhale, exhale, burn, or carry any lighted or heated device or pipe, or any other lighted or heated marijuana or marijuana product intended for inhalation, whether natural or synthetic, in any manner or in any form.” There is no difference between lighting up a joint or puffing on your Pax vape, both are considered “illegal” in public areas.
You cannot legally smoke weed in an area where tobacco is prohibited. This could get you a $250 fine and an infraction. No smoking means no smoking! Anyone caught over the age of 18 smoking cannabis in public may be subject to a $100 fine. You could get a $250 ticket for smoking within 1000 feet of a school, daycare or youth center. You can smoke at a private residence near a school, as long as the smoke is not detectable by others on the grounds of the school.
Also, keep in mind that law prohibits ingesting cannabis in public, so don't be eating your medicated gummy bears at the local park either.
Driving with an Open Container
A driver or passenger can get a $250 fine for “possessing an open container or open package of marijuana or marijuana products while driving, operating, or riding in the passenger seat or compartment of a motor vehicle, boat, vessel, aircraft, or other vehicle used for transportation.” (Source)
A $250 fine would be nothing compared to getting a DUI, which can cost you over $10,000 and many hours of your life. There is a huge grey area on how to test the intoxication level of someone driving “under the influence” of cannabis. As of now, if you have THC in your system, this is enough to get you in trouble with the law. If you engage in reckless driving while under the influence of any drug, this will leave you vulnerable to a run-in with the police. It is illegal to “smoke or ingest marijuana or marijuana products while driving, operating a motor vehicle, boat, vessel, aircraft, or other vehicle used for transportation.” If you are caught driving under the influence of marijuana in California, this could lead to a 10-month suspension of your driver’s license. (Source)
Have your designated driver on speed dial and stay safe out there!
Public Consumption at Events
When it comes to public consumption at events, California law says you are not permitted to “smoke or ingest marijuana or marijuana products in any public place, except in accordance with Section 26200 of the Business and Professions Code.”
So what does the Business and Professions code say about weed parties when it comes to San Francisco weed laws? The code states “this division does not prohibit the issuance of a state temporary event license to a licensee authorizing onsite cannabis sales to, and consumption by, persons 21 years of age or older at a county fair or district agricultural association event...These temporary event licenses shall only be issued in local jurisdictions that authorize such events.”
Event sponsors must also ensure that “cannabis consumption is not visible from any public place or nonage-restricted area.”
The third main rule when it comes to weed events is that “the sale or consumption of alcohol or tobacco is not allowed on the premises.”
Being a Responsible Consumer
San Francisco weed laws have changed a lot since the first medical dispensary opened decades ago. When it comes to cannabis laws, consumers are expected to keep up to date to avoid getting into trouble. Be safe, be responsible and enjoy your recreational cannabis legally!
Weed. Fast. Affordable.
CANEX brings you the products you want, straight to your door. Check out the CANEX menu for a full list of products we carry. Existing customers can get 10% off their next order with the code CANEXBLOG18.